The medieval city

The medieval city is at the heart of many episodes in the history of France: invasion of the Visigoths arrested by Clovis (Vth), Arabs and epic of Charles Martel (VIIIth), of the Normans (IXth).

La Roche-Posay experienced its heyday during the Hundred Years War. In 1356 the King of France Jean II le Bon offered the fortress of La Roche-Posay to the English, but that was without counting on Kerlouët, a lieutenant from Du Guesclin who took over the city in 1369. He was then appointed governor of La Roche -Posay.

The medieval city still evokes this historic past today through the remains of the old citadel.

The medieval town of La Roche Posay

    GUERTONLOCATION Sarl - siège social : 11 rue des Forges - 35170 BRUZ                                                                                                                     N° SIRET : 843 980 509 000 15   

    website : www.guertonlocation.com                                                                                                                                                                     Mise à jour le 02 janvier 2021

La cité médiévale de la Roche Posay

La cité médiévale

 

La cité médiévale est au coeur de nombreux épisodes de l'histoire de France : invasion des Wisigoths arrêtés par Clovis (Vème), des Arabes et épopée de Charles Martel (VIIIème), des Normands (IXème). 

La Roche-Posay connait ses heures de gloire pendant la Guerre de Cent Ans. En 1356 le Roi de France Jean II le Bon offre la forteresse de La Roche-Posay aux anglais, mais c'est sans compter sur Kerlouët, un lieutenant de Du Guesclin qui reprend la cité een 1369. ll est alors nommé gouverneur de La Roche-Posay.

La cité médiévale évoque encore aujourd'hui ce passé historique au travers des vestiges de l'ancienne citadelle.

    GUERTONLOCATION Sarl 

    siège social : 11 rue des Forges - 35170 bruz

    Tel :  +33 658 629 668                                                             

    N° SIRET : 843 980 509 000 15

    website : www.guertonlocation.com                                                        E.mail : yannick_guerton@yahoo.fr                                                         Mise à jour le 07 decembre 2019

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon